Birchbox

May Birchbox (A little late!)

**Edit: This was supposed to go up on the 15th, but obviously it did not!**

So I just got home from work, and decided to check the mail box. And I was not expecting to see the signature bright pink box inside! Usually, because I live on the west coast, I don’t get my until the 17th or the 18th, but surprise surprise, Birchbox delivered, literally, and got me my box early! Well anyways, for those of you who are reading this and wondering, what in the world is Birchbox? It’s very similar to all the other deluxe sample subscription boxes out there. Basically when you sign up you take a quiz that tells the company what kind of products would work with your skin or hair type and just things you are interested in. Then every month you get a semi-personalized box sent to your doorstep with 3-6 deluxe size samples, and if you’re lucky you may even get something full sized!

And as a bonus with Birchbox, they give you the chance to earn points which can contribute to any purchases you’d like to make on their site, so for instance if I wanted to review the perfume in my box, I’d get 10 points and for every 100 points it counts for 10 dollars off your next purchase, not counting actual monthly boxes. Every month has a theme and this months’ theme was Beauty Diary. Now onto my actual box!

Here are some pictures of my box, sorry for the not so awesome lighting. I took them as soon as I got home so the sun was setting, so it’s not the best.

DSC_0149_mini

The first thing I saw when I opened up my box was the Klorane Dry Shampoo, which s described as ultra-gentle with oat milk. Full size price – $18. Sample size – $5.95

Then I saw the Sumita Eyeliner in black.  Full Size – $21 for a set of four minis. Sample Size: 5.25

Inside one of their envelope style pouches, there were two products. The first one that I pulled out was the COOLA classic sunscreen. Full Size – $32. Sample size – $4.87. The second item inside the envelope was the Marvis  Classic Strong Mint toothpaste. Full Size – $10.50. Sample Size – $1.39

Then lastly, in the very bottom there was a pen made just for the subscribers of Birchbox plus a dollar off coupon on your next purchase of their pens! Value: $2.30

Over all this as an ok month. Certainly not the best box I’ve ever gotten, but also not the worst. I would have loved to have either the cargo blush or the heat protectant that some other people got in their boxes. But it was still good, and I got all products that I will use, plus no foil packets or perfume samples!

Overall Value: $19.76

7 thoughts on “May Birchbox (A little late!)

  1. I got the heat protectant and it is amazing. I didn’t get the pen (which honestly, i would have liked). I like to collect them for the hell of it! I agree, it wasn’t the best but I’m so curious about next month I sort of don’t want to cancel!

    Like

  2. I got the exact same box as you and I feel the same way, it’s not the worst, but it’s certainly not the best either! Here’s hoping June brings us both some full sized products!

    You can check out my review (a week or so ago) on my blog, lawsofmakeup.wordpress.com!
    Christie

    Like

  3. I got a totally different box, but had the same impression – it was okay, but not great! I wish I had gotten the dry shampoo – I travel a lot for work and would love a travel size. Also, I would like to try that cargo blush, but am scared they won’t send it out again because everyone was complaining on facebook that it broke during shipping and was impossible to get off everything because it is waterproof. Check out what I got in my box – http://itsawonderfullifestyle.com/2013/05/17/may-2013-birchbox/

    Like

Leave a Reply

