Reviews

Project Bronze: Part 1 The Bronzers: NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny

Product

For a while this product was probably one of the most understated products at the drugstore. Probably because of the brand, NYC, not known for having the best quality. But recently because of the bloggersphere and all the youtube gurus seemed to discover this product all at once, the NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny has really taken off.

This simple matte bronzer is housed in a bronze, slim compact, with a full size mirror in the lid. The impression of a sun is on top of the bronzer. Like I said it is matte, which is probably why it is so popular, so many of the bronzers out there at the drugstore are full of shimmer and glitter. It’s a tad bit orange, but it’s really not all that noticeable unless you really pile it on. This really is ideal for light to medium skin tones, but I imagine tanned to deeper skin tones would have a very hard time benefiting from this product.

The texture on this leaves a bit to be desired. It’s a little chalky and when you dab your brush in it, you’re left with a bunch of fallout sitting on top of the powder. But for the price of this, all those simple things that aren’t exactly perfect can be forgotten.

Packaging

Very simple packaging surrounds this drugstore beauty. Just a plain bronze compact with a snap closure. It comes with a small sponge which I really just don’t understand, if it were a foundation or a setting powder then yes, but for a bronzer? Unheard of. There is a full sized mirror as well in the lid which is nice. Over all the packaging doesn’t feel that luxurious or particularly nice but it does the job and looks good doing it.

Price

Absolutely fantastic. This will probably be one of the best purchases you can make at the drugstore for your money. $2.99 for 0.33 oz of product is just amazing. I can’t speak highly enough of the value of this product!

Overall

For the price of this matte drugstore bronzer I really don’t think you can beat it. The only real downside of this is that there is only one shade, which really limits them. The small details that make this a less than perfect product I think can be excused for the price. If you have a drugstore near you that sells this, I really think it’s worth picking up.

Now for the swatches!

DSC_0236_mini

Overview of compact

DSC_0238_mini

Closeup of product

DSC_0240_mini

Blended swatch (left), heavy swatch (right)

Until next time . . .

XOXO

Veronica

8 thoughts on “Project Bronze: Part 1 The Bronzers: NYC Smooth Skin Bronzer in Sunny

  1. I absolutely love this stuff and use it almost daily, even over my Benefit Hoola bronzer. And since I’m more tan for the summer, I’ve been dusting it all over my face instead of just using it as a contour. I’ve been really surprised at how well it controls oiliness throughout the day–I’m planning on picking up an NYC pressed powder to see if it may be as awesome as this is. Great review, Veronica–I’m really enjoying this series!
    -C

    Like

  2. Great post!
    I love how you section off the review in terms of price, packaging…ect.
    I’m not a fan of a bronzer, pretty much because I don’t need it, but I’m sure your review will come in handy for those who do.

    ♥ Madeleine

    Like

Leave a Reply

