Reviews

Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm stain in Honey and Charm + Swatches!!

DSC_0235_mini

Product

This balm stain was probably one of the first, if not the first product like this at the drug store. It’s a hybrid between a lightly hydrating balm and a lip stain. So many other lip stains out there are very difficult to apply mostly causing dryness and uneven application but with long lasting color through talking and eating. Making them very appealing to the everyday person who wants color all day long but not the hassle of reapplying and checking throughout the day.

The balm aspect of this hybrid isn’t fantastic and isn’t nearly as hydrating as most people need, but of course there is a fine balance between having the stain something to adhere to and the slip of the balm. So if there was more moisture there wouldn’t be as much staining power.

On my lips without eating it lasts roughly 3.5 – 4 hours, but if I eat something light, something  without a sauce or dressing it lasts about 3 hours and then if I eat anything greasy or something with a sauce it only lasts about an hour or so.

The color I get out of this for Honey with one swipe is mauve pink and with two or three swipes the color just keeps intensifying until it’s a deeper purple pink. There is also a slight minty taste and smell to this, which creates a very slight tingle on the lips.

For Charm in one swipe it adds a sheer tint of peach, almost like a creamsicle, but with more swipes it just starts to look thick, uneven and just unflattering if you have any significant pigment to your lips. So I really only use this very lightly on my lips. This also has the same minty taste and smell.

Packaging

These balm stains are housed in simple tubes where the outside packaging mirrors the color on the inside. The product, thank god, is a twist up so there is no need for those awkward large sharpeners.

Price

Because these are from the drugstore the price can really vary where you are, and most of the time I’ve gone by any Revlon stands there is usually  $1.00 off coupon, but generally it’s between $6.99 – 8.99 for 2.7g

Overall

I really enjoy this color and this formula I think it’s about the best lip stain I’ve tried, and not for the staying power because there are longer lasting stains out there, but I just find myself reaching for this so much more than any of my other stains.

And now here are some pictures and swatches! Also please excuse any skin, lip imperfections you see, I do not have perfect skin and these pictures are super up close and personal!

DSC_0221_mini  DSC_0222_mini

Overall packaging and close up of tip (Honey)

DSC_0223_mini  DSC_0224_mini

One swipe (top), multiple swipes (bottom). Natural light (left), shaded light (right).

DSC_0232_mini

Honey on lips in natural light

DSC_0246_mini  DSC_0249_mini

Overall packaging of Charm (left), close up of tip (right)

DSC_0250_mini  DSC_0253_mini

One swipe (top), multiple swipes (bottom). Natural light (left), shaded (right)

DSC_0257_mini

On lips with flash (I found this to be the most accurate color representation)

Until next time . . .

XOXO

Veronica

7 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm stain in Honey and Charm + Swatches!!

  1. Hello Darling,
    Gorgeousness Post!
    These lip stains sounds quite promising, I’m in search for a new one so I’ll be sure to give them a try.
    Love You,
    Natalie x 🙂
    P.S: New Post

    Like

  2. Your skin looks lovely and these colours really suit you well! I’m so jealous that honey appears as it does on your lips, on mine (which I think maybe are a bit darker) honey comes off as a dark berry almost! Definitely like the way you wear it better ha!

    Like

    • Oh thank you! That just about made my day. And I totally know what you mean and for a while I stopped using Honey because of that very reason, but I realized that I was swiping it too many times because I was waiting for my lips to get a certain amount of moisture, so now I apply a lip balm underneath and tell my self no more than two swipes back and forth. Try that and see if it helps.
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

Leave a Reply

