Reviews

Review: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers + Swatches Feat. Luna, Celestial and Stellar!

Product

These liquid lipsticks were first launched in the UK as the Rimmel Apocolips, a long lasting, highly pigmented liquid lipstick that as it wears away leaves a beautiful even stain on the lips. Here is Rimmel’s description of this.

  • For the first time, the intense, richer color of a lipstick is enhanced by a smooth satin shine
  • Ultra-intense, ultra-comfortable – it lasts all day
  • It’s neither a lipstick… nor a gloss… it’s BIGGER than both

The earth-shattering lip lacquer from Rimmel London combining the intense color of lipstick with a lacquer like shine, Show Off Lip Lacquer is an explosive make-up phenomenon that represents the end of color as you know it.  Packed with pure color pigments, its lusciously creamy, conditioning formula promises a never-before combination of color, shine and comfort that last and last.

This is pretty much spot on description of these amazing lip lacquers, the only discrepancy being that they do not last all day, though they do last an incredible amount of time. On my lips on average they stay looking glossy for about 2 hours with no eating and after that stay opaque, but not shiny for another 2 hours, and as that wears away it still leaves a beautiful even stain on the lips that stays on for hours and hours more. Now with eating you’ll skip through to the stain stage pretty quickly. Which isn’t great but you can’t win it all.

They have a very strange scent, that some people have described as either watermelon or kiwi, but I do not agree, it’s very chemically thought they obviously tried to create a sweet scent to cover that up. I don’t smell it all once I’ve applied and even as I’m applying I don’t notice it very much.

I have three colors, Celestial, Luna and Stellar. Celestial is a beautiful mauvey pink-purple shade, perfect for everyday. Luna is a lovely creamsicle shade that looks divine with a tan or pale skin, also a great everyday shade. And lastly Stellar is a rich orange toned red perfect for a pop of color anytime of the day.

Packaging

Rimmel really did a top notch job with the packaging on these beauties. They look like lip lacquers straight from space, mostly black it fades to the color of the product inside. While the tops are cut in a way to look like space rocks. Also very unique about these is the actual applicator, at first glance it looks like any other doe foot applicator, but these are unique, there is a little dip or well that stores more product so you don’t have to keep dipping in the applicator back into the tube.

Price

Rimmel has always been know for their very reasonable price range, and while not all their products are home runs (But which brand can truly say that?) I would still pay a whole hell of a lot more for many of their products. These are very reasonably priced at $4.50 – 5.50 depending on where you buy them, for 0.18 oz of product which is just on par for their other lip gloss sizes.

Overall

I absolutely ADORE these lip lacquers and I have to keep stopping myself from buying all the colors available! I would repurchase these ten times over, the rich color pay off and long lasting finish these give really make them HG contenders.

And now for the swatches, prepare to be amazed . . .

Luna

DSC_0273_mini  DSC_0274_mini

DSC_0265_mini  DSC_0266_mini

DSC_0272_mini

Celestial

DSC_0275_mini  DSC_0280_mini

DSC_0281_mini  DSC_0282_mini

DSC_0285_mini

Stellar

DSC_0288_mini  DSC_0289_mini

DSC_0290_mini  DSC_0292_mini

DSC_0298_mini

9 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers + Swatches Feat. Luna, Celestial and Stellar!

  1. These look lovely Veronica 🙂 I’ve been so tempted to pick a couple of these up, but they retail for about $16 here in Aus, so I’m going to wait until they go on sale I think. I love Stellar, it looks amazing on you!
    A quick question – would you suggest applying these over lip liner or is that not necessary? It’s just that more intense pink and red lipsticks tend to bleed on me without one, and I was wondering whether these were my answer! They do look like they could do the trick without one, and the pigmentation is insane for a liquidy texture.

    Excited to try these out 🙂

    Rosie xx

    Like

    • Thank you Rosie! Thats unfortunate about the price difference though, it must be hard to build any kind of make collection. With the lighter colors I don;t think you would, but for the brighter and more bold colors I think it might be necessary. However if you were to just dab a few dots on your lips and then blend it in like I did with the lighter swatches then I don’t think you would need one. Fortunately I don’t have that problem so I really can’t say too much about it. All I can real say with much surety is just give them a try and see for yourself. Sorry I’m not more helpful with this.
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

  2. Hello Darling,
    Gorgeousness Post!
    Adore the review, very well detailed.
    This lacquers sound like a must try, which I’ll most definitely be doing.
    As an aspiring Graphic Designer the packaging appeal immediately so its good to know the product is of just as high a standard.
    Love You,
    Natalie x 🙂
    P.S: New Post

    Like

    • Thank you! I was a little apprehensive at first to try this out, but I really like that it’s slightly orange toned which keeps it from being too stark. I think they really are worth a try, especially at the price!
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

Leave a Reply

