How to / Tutorial

My Hair Care Routine!!

DSC_0221

Since I’m always so curious about what other people use, and what items they find they just keep going back to, I’d like to think there are people out there like me! So for all you curious ladies and gents out there, this one is for you!

Over the years I’ve gone through many a phases with my hair care, from wanting nothing but volume to not caring at all what I used as long as it smelled good (this one was very short lived – we’re talking a couple of washes).  But something I’ve always gone back to is moisturizing products. Now I don’t consider my hair to be dry, but then again maybe it is, because all my favorites hair products all cater to dry or damaged hair. I also don’t wash my hair everyday. I know some of you are gasping at the horror, but ask any well trained or self devoted hair junkie and you’ll find washing your hair everyday is actually bad for your hair, the longer you can go between washes the better! I find I can go up to 4 days before I just can’t take it anymore and I have to wash my hair.This is great for many reasons, the main one being that you won’t over strip your hair of it’s essential oils. Another perk is if you normally heat style your hair you’ll use less heat because you’ll have already done it the day before!

And of course you’ll need to know a little but about my hair. I’m vey lucky to have pretty much straight hair with very minimal frizz. But, as the saying goes, the grass is always greener on the the other side and I wish I had some wave or curl to my hair. Anyways my hair is quite fine, meaning each strand is very thin, but I have a whole lot of it! Not only is my hair thick but I prefer to keep it quite long (I don’t think it’s very long but everyone else seems to) which is about a little longer than mid back. Now onto the products.

The shampoo that I keep going back to, is this Sukesha Moisturizing Hair Wash. I love this for many reasons, but I’ll start with the basics, is because this is sulfate free. For those of you out there who don’t know about sulfates, it’s something found in almost all shampoos or soaps, this is what makes your shampoo lather up (this one still does but I’m not sure how). The only problem with it, is that it’s can be very stripping, and take away too much from your hair. Plus for those of you who care, this is 100% organic, vegan, cruelty and amine free (not sure how this makes a difference?). Also it’s only $11 at my salon. I also love the way this makes my hair feel and look! I apply this at my scalp and make sure to get really into the scalp and scrub away, then let it rinse through the ends. And the perfect companion to this shampoo is the All-Nutrient Hydracreme Conditioner.

DSC_0223

This conditioner is from a sister brand of my shampoo so this is also organic, vegan and cruelty free. I didn’t realize this until I went to do a bit more reading about both products! This for me is a great light conditioner; I tend to use really heavy and thick balms if I want any kind of special treatment. But this is still quite moisturizing and smoothing, without weighing your hair down. I apply this all over my head , concentrating from my ears down and then taking whatever is left over across the top and sides of my head. Again maybe to some of you this is odd because we’ve all been told to keep conditioner away from the top of our heads for fear of buildup and greasing up the hair. But for me I’ve always done it this way and I’ve never had any problems.

DSC_0224

Then once out of the shower after my hair is almost dry I put in a couple pups of Redkin’s Extreme Anti Snap leave in treatment. This stuff is amazing. It’s for dry or damaged hair, both of which I don’t think of when it comes to my hair, but I still love it. It makes my hair feel softer, smoother and more nourished. I apply this through the ends of my hair and like my conditioner, I take whatever is left over and work it up my hair, though never by the roots.

DSC_0227

Then lastly, if I feel like it or remember I use the Marc Anthony Oil of Morocco hair oil. Now this product isn’t all that great for your hair, because it’s not a true oil, it’s mostly silicon’s that make your hair feel good temporarily, and I really only use this if I’m going to blow dry my hair (which isn’t very often), mostly I just let my hair air dry. But I like it and it’s what I use!

DSC_0228

So there you have it, my hair care routine. It’s not very extensive because I’m more of a wash and go kind of girl, I’m lucky enough that my hair looks pretty good without any heat styling. If you have any question please feel free to pop them on down below. Until next time . . .

XOXO

Veronica

One thought on “My Hair Care Routine!!

Leave a Reply

