Reviews

Review: Wet n’ Wild Blush in Mellow Wine

Product

So I know I don’t post very many drugstore reviews, and that’s simply because most of the time I don’t find they are on par with my high end alternatives. But this blush in particular blew me out of the water, even after I heard all the rave reviews, which is what spurred me to buy it. This is Wet n’ Wild’s Mellow Wine blush, which is specifically a part of their Color Icon line, which I’m finding is super good quality. As this blush is named it’s definitely a wine toned blush, but not so harsh as a true wine, hence the ‘mellow’ wine name. But amazingly this blush still manages to be quite neutral, it’s not too cool toned to only be used on winter skin, but isn’t too warm that it can only be used on summer skin. It’s very unique in that way.

When I first tried this I was convinced that it would be too ‘wine’ to be truly enjoyed in the summer, but I’ve actually found myself reaching for this more and more often as I use it.

And can we talk about the Ludacris pigmentation to this blush for a moment please? I have found with what few drugstore blushes I’ve tried that you almost need to dig your brush into the product to get the desired look, but with this blush, you barely, emphasis on the barely, need to tap your brush into this blush. Now with that though you’ll be greeted with a less than desirable amount of fallout on the top of the powder. But hey, nothing is perfect right?

Another small gripe I have with this is that it isn’t very long lasting with my normal foundation routine (foundation, concealer, powder then blush) but if I apply this under my powder, it lasts much longer because it has something more substantial to adhere to.

Packaging

The lower price range of the blush is very evident in the packaging, but I don’t really mind. It’s a rectangular plastic compact, the bottom is black, one half of the compact is the product and the other half is a small well where a poorly made brush is housed. I really advise against using the brush included unless you have no other means to apply it.

Price

This products is very reasonable at $2.99 for 0.14oz/4g of product, which to give you reference MAC blushes contain 0.21oz/6g and NARS contain 0.16oz/4.8g

Overall

I really enjoy this blush by itself, but that fact that it’s just about dirt cheap make me love it even more!

And now for some swatches!

DSC_0253

Overall product

DSC_0258

 

Blended swatch (left), heavy swatch (right)

If you have any questions, just pop them down below! Also if you’ve tried this product tell me what you think! Until next time . . .

XOXO

Veronica

3 thoughts on “Review: Wet n’ Wild Blush in Mellow Wine

Leave a Reply

