Reviews

Review: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed +Swatches!

DSC_0451_mini

I feel like my reviews are all centering around cult favorites lately, I promise I didn’t do it on purpose! I’ve just been going through all my blushes and reviewing them for you guys! Anyways, for a time this was like the must have blush, and kind of rekindled the whole ‘nude’ blush craze, which I have gladly taken part in!

Product

This blush is described as a ‘nude’, which surprisingly enough I really don’t agree with at all. Nude implies neutrality , something without under tones. I would described this more as a purple-pinky-brown. Horrible description I know. But its just a very interesting color, that’s hard to grasp exactly how it comes across on my skin. But that’s about the best I can do! This blush is also completely matte which I really like, because then I can control how much shimmer and shine goes on my face!

This blush formula claims to be long wearing, toting a 12 hour claim! Now I would say this is definitely more long wearing than any of my other blushes, but it’s certainly not 12 hours looking freshly applied, there was some definite fading, but there was still some blush left on my skin at 12 hours.

It isn’t very pigmented though, it’s just average, I feel as though I have to use a much heavier hand with this blush than I do any of my other blushes, and maybe they because of the long wear claim? Maybe it’s adhering to my brush? Not sure about that, though it is a possibility. It quite finely milled, though it’s not that soft or buttery to the touch the way NARS matte blushes are

Packaging

I really enjoy the packaging of these blushes, partly because the outer compact reflect the color that’s inside which is really convenient if you have a lot of blushes and you need to sort through a bunch. Also something that I really love about it is that the metal tin isn’t glued in, its magnetized so if you wanted to put this into a pallet there no heat or cutting involved you just slap the open compact onto you palm and it just pops right out.

Price

This blush is pretty reasonably priced at $26 for 0.2 oz, for reference, NARS is $29 for 0.16 and MAC is $21 for 0.21oz.

Overall

I really do enjoy this blush, my only gripe was that the color wasn’t what I was expecting, however I do love the formula, and the color is very flattering on a wide array of skin tones.

And now for some pictures!

DSC_0451_mini

CLose up of compact

DSC_0454_mini

Close up of product, I love the little imprint on the powder

DSC_0456_mini

Here you can see how the tin is magnetized

DSC_0468_mini

Blended swatch (left), heavy swatch (right)

DSC_0472_mini

Close up of swatches, blended (left), heavy (right)

I hope you guys enjoyed this! Until next time . . .

XOXO

Veronica

5 thoughts on “Review: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed +Swatches!

  1. I love exposed so much that I have it in the lip surgence as well. With the blush, I take a fluffy crease brush and dust exposed into my crease on days I want a more mauve crease colour, works great!

    Like

  2. About the pigmentation, I completely agree. The blush is not buttery at all, and extremely hard to get a decent amount of color.I believe that we may both have gotten a bad batch of the same color, and it’s frustrating because I don’t purchase expensive makeup often and I’d been looking forward to that one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

