Reviews

Comparison: NARS Orgasm vs Deep Throat Blush + Swatches!

DSC_0392_mini

Okay so before I get into the nitty gritty details of this review, can I just mention how blush worthy this title is? I was taking the photos for this post and I wasn’t really thinking of what I was going to name this review, or really comparison, until I began typing this out. I can just imagine all the disappointed people coming to this post thinking of something completely polar opposite to a blush comparison!

Ah well, anyways, when I first began getting into higher end makeup, both of these blushes were quite the talk of the town, or rather, beauty community. Not only because they are so gorgeous on so many different skin tones, but also because, arguably, they are also very similar. I did a similar post previous to this about Gina and Gilda, which you can view here.

The Similarities

–       They both have a healthy dose of shimmer

–       The texture, both blushes are quite smooth

–       The pigmentation, both blushes are very pigmented and can deliver true to pan color, if that’s what you want

–       The wear time, both last roughly 8-9 hours depending on how oily my skin gets throughout the day.

–       They both have a bit of peach and pink tones in them

The Differences

–       Deep Throat is definitely the lighter of the two blushes

–       Deep Throat is also much more pink than Orgasm, which has more peach tones

–       If one were to be described as more golden, or the one with more shimmer it would definitely be Orgasm

And now for he answer every one is wanting to hear, is it worth it to get both, or if I have one, do I need the other? And like my last comparison, the answer is a bit subjective, yes and no. The answer really depends on what you are looking for, your budget and your collection.

If you are looking for a true peachy pink, then just get Orgasm. If the idea of peach kind of scares you and you don’t want to venture too far, then just get Deep Throat. If you have darker skin get Orgasm, and oppositely, if you are paler then Deep Throat might be a better match for your skin.

If you’re on a budget and you can only afford one, or you are only looking to buy one, then it comes down to what kind of blush are you looking for and what would ultimately work best for you skin the majority of the time. For me personally I like Orgasm more in the summer when I’m a bit tanned and in the winter I veer more towards Deep Throat more often.

If you are just building up your collection and you wanted something in this range of colors and you are down to these two blushes, then I don’t think you need both, I would just decide ultimately between the two the same way I mentioned above, just depending on your coloring, which colors you prefer more and which one you would get the most wear out of. But if you have a larger collection and you are looking to broaden the basic shades you already have, and you don’t mind spending the extra cash then I say go for it!

And of course there may be some of you out there who kind of (secretly) just want Orgasm because it’s such a cult favorite, or you want Deep throat, because where else will you find a beauty item with that kind of out right sexual name. And for those of you out there (trust me, I’ve known to be one especially for nail polish names!) I say ignore the name or the cult favorite and buy the one that you think would look best with your coloring.

So I hope this may have helped those of you who were on the fence, and maybe for those who’ve seen swatches but can’t really grasp the subtle differences between the two. I’ve also taken some photos, because no matter how descriptive I may try to be, nothing is better for these kinds of posts than just a good old side by side comparison.

DSC_0229_mini

Here is the outer packaging of my Orgasm blush, this is not the typical packaging.

DSC_0231_mini

Overall packaging

DSC_0403_mini

Close up of Orgasm blush

DSC_0148_2_mini

Outside packaging of a normal NARS blush, this one is Deep Throat

DSC_0155_mini

Close up of the product

DSC_0392_mini

Side by side comparison of the blushes in the pan (Deep Throat on the left, Orgasm on the right)

DSC_0402_mini

Side by side swatches, Deep Throat (bottom), and Orgasm (top)

If you’d like to read my individual, full reviews of these blushes, here is the one for Deep Throat, and here is the one for Orgasm. I hope you guys enjoyed this post, please tell me if it was helpful or if you have any questions about the blushes that I didn’t cover. Until next time . . .

real veronica

13 thoughts on “Comparison: NARS Orgasm vs Deep Throat Blush + Swatches!

  1. I love that little material case btw! I’m so scared of my NARS makeup smashing. I’ve got the NARS desire blush, it’s sooo pink you have to be dead careful. I’m so tempted to treat myself to orgasm! Xx

    Like

    • I would prefer it was normal NARS packaging, just because the zipper can be a bit tricky, but I do agree it is nice to look at! Oh gosh I would be way to scared to try something like that blush out! And I would definitely go to a counter and swatch it and maybe have them apply it to your skin, and if it looks good, then I say go for it! You won’t regret it.
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

  2. Funny story about this: I had originally intended to get Orgasm from the very beginning because, as you said, it’s a cult-favorite and part of my beauty must-try list. I do quite a bit of research on higher end makeup before purchasing, so I made a lot of trips to the Nars counter to swatch and try. Every time I went, I would always mistake Deep Throat as Orgasm. The patient SA would then direct me to the right one. This happened about 2 or 3 times.

    The last time I went, I had the artist apply one on each side. Both she and the boyfriend said DT looks better on me. I kind of suspected that, too, since I always reach for DT by instinct and I know from experience that the pinker blushes tend to flatter my skintone more. There was just a small part of me that still got tempted by Orgasm. (I still want to know for myself what all the fuss is about.) But guess which one I went for in the end. Haha.

    Like

    • I do that all the time! Especially at MAC with all of their lipsticks, I always grab colors I already have. As for Orgasm, maybe get one later or ask for it for christmas, at least then you’ll know what all the fuss is about! Also sorry for taking so long to reply to you, For some reason I wasn’t notified that you had commented!
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

  3. Hello Veronica, super late response here but thank you for this comparison. It’s so hard to tell with online photos how a blush will look, so I appreciated your side by side swatches of two similar blushes. With a fair to light complexion, I’m leaning toward deep throat as it seems s touch lighter and has less shimmer. (Maybe orgasm in the summer when I have a bit of a tan). Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

