Accutane Diaries

Accutane Diaries: Weeks 3, 4 and 5!

Hello Lovelies,

Here is another update on my Accutane experience, as with my last post I was on 40mg a day, but in week 5 my doctor upped my dosage to 60 mg a day, 30 in and the morning and 30 at night. And surprisingly my symptoms are actually better, though I’m not sure if that is because I’ve become accustomed to my new routine or if my body is just adjusting to the medicine.

My chapped lips have gotten much much better and I’m using less lip balm than I was before, or at least it seems that way. My skin is also incredibly clear, I only get about one or at most two blemishes at a time, and they heal very quickly.

My blackheads are pretty much nonexistent now, I’m not sure when It happened, but one day I was just taking a close look at my skin and I noticed that my pores were smaller and any blackheads I do have are very small and minimal. And my skin is just so much smoother! My makeup glides on so much easier and lasts much longer.

Overall the positive side effects far outweigh the ‘negative’ side effects I’ve been experiencing, and I’ve been really happy with my skin so far! If you guys have any questions about Accutane please go ahead and ask away, and if you’d like to see, check out my other pervious posts about Accutane here and here. Until next time . . .

real veronica

2 thoughts on “Accutane Diaries: Weeks 3, 4 and 5!

  1. Wonderful post!
    I’m about two months into Accutane and it’s already helped a lot. My dermatologist said that a few deep-rooted whiteheads may pop up now and then at this stage, but I’ve only had one blemish since week four.
    At first taking it, though, it was crazy because everything was coming to the surface all at once and my skin immediately got even more chapped and dry than it was before. My lips are still chapped, but getting a little better since I started using Blistex rather than Chapstick.
    I wish you the best of luck on it! Have you had any back pain or soreness? For at least three weeks, my back hurt like hell because of the medication, though it wasn’t a severe side effect- only a minor one- and so not dangerous to my health, only annoying as heck.

    -Lauren

    Like

    • Thank you Lauren!
      Accutane has literally been the best thing for my skin and has worked the fastest for me out of any of the other methods or drugs I’ve used in the past. Thankfully for me my skin didn’t really go through any of that ‘purge’ phase it sounds like you are describing, but as of right now I just have two healing blemishes.
      For me I only had chapped lips once and it was just last week because I came down with a cold and all the mouth breathing was just to much no matter how much lip balm I applied. But i’ve been pretty lucky and just regularly applying a balm throughout the day has kept my lips smooth.
      I haven’t experienced any soreness, though I know joint pain can be a big issue for some people, my Dr told me if I experienced any of this it would most likely be due to dehydration, and he recommended that I up my water intake. I hope your pain subsides dear! Good luck to you as well on your accutane journey!
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

Leave a Reply

