Reviews / Skin Care

My Skin Care Routine – Accutane Version

DSC_0906_mini

Hello Lovelies,

So I’m sure you all know this fact by now if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, I am on Accutane. Which if you didn’t know, you can read up on my experience here, here, here and here! Anyways, over the course of the past few months it has taken my skin from combo – normal to fully dry all over my face and body. This has been a huge transition for me because I’ve never really experienced dry skin and it took me a while to fully develop a skin care routine that works for me. So here we go!

In the AM:

Generally in the morning I’m not too keen on pulling out all the stops of a full skin care routine so it’s pretty simple for me:

Cleanse: I just take an exfoliating cotton round soaked in Bioderma and swipe it across my face just to get rid of any excess moisturizer or oil from my skin. Something like a toner would totally work for this step.

Moisturize: Next up I take my FAB Ultra Repair Cream, which is just a multi purpose lotion, similar to Cetaphil but more moisturizing and smooth it across my skin. I also take a small amount of my Ole Henriksen Fresh Start Eye Crème under my eyes and around my orbital bone. *this really helps my concealer apply more smoothly

Protect: I use the Neutragena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunblock with SPF 45, using an SPF is always important but it is especially important when you’re on Accutane because your skin is much more light sensitive than it normally would be.

In the PM:

Removing Makeup: This step I change up every now and then but generally I use a makeup remover wipe to remove the bulk of my face makeup, brows and some of my eye shadow. Then I take the Ponds Cold Cream and rub that gently around my eyes, I have found this to be the best thing at removing waterproof makeup.

Cleanse: Then I deep cleanse my skin with Philosophy’s Purity Made simple cleanser, which gets rid of any left over makeup without stripping my skin. If I feel like my skin is a bit dull, I use it in combination with my Clarisonic Plus.

Serum: This is a step I don’t do often just because I treat serum as more of a specialty or treatment type product, and I have a couple I keep in rotation but my favorite is my REN Radiance Perfection Serum, which is really nice for when I feel like my skin is getting dull.

Eye Cream: Again I use my Ole Henriksen Fresh Start eye crème around my orbital bone very gently.

Moisturize: I switch between night time moisturizers because sometimes I feel my skin is drier than other nights. So if I feel like my skin isn’t that dry I just use the FAB moisturizer, but when I feel like my skin is drier than normal, roughly 2 times a week, I use the Origins Drink Up – Intensive Overnight Mask. This little beaut is amazing for when my skin is in need of instant and intense moisture.

Even More Moisture: Then to seal everything in and make sure my skin is getting all the moisture it needs, I spritz the Derma e Hydrating mist with Hyaluronic Acid over my skin, and then let it set before I go back over everything with my Evian spray overtop all of that

And last but not least Lips: Every night I need to use a really rich balm on my lips and the best I’ve found so far is the Smith’s Strawberry Lip Balm which is Lanolin based.

*Something Extra:

I also use the Origins Drink Up 10 minute mask, which I use in the shower, because with the combination of the steam and  your mask make your skin super moisturized and smooth. I use this only once or twice a week.

Well I hoped this was useful for you guys, even if you’re not on accutane, maybe you’re just experiencing dry skin! Let me know if what your skin care routine is like, I’m always up for recommendations! Until next time . . .

real veronica

Other places you can find me!

Twitter: @beautyarchive

Instagram: @thebautyarchive

Bloglovin: The Beauty Archive

Tumblr: Bated-breath

Leave a Reply

