How to / Tutorial / Reviews / Uncategorized

Virtual Makeover? An Online Shoppers Dream!

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 9.40.13 PM

Hello Lovelies,

Recently I discovered this website, GlamSt, and after reading up on it I wondered why no one had ever come up with this idea before. It’s a site wholly dedicated to virtually trying on makeup! SwoonThis site is a makeup lovers’ dream, because I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes I don’t feel like trecking it all the way to the mall, or better yet your local mall doesn’t even have the store you need to be able to swatch a product you’ve been eyeing. My local mall, to put it quite bluntly, sucks. We have a Macy’s and an Ulta (which has only been there for a couple months), all the other stores I would probably never go into, but that’s it for makeup. Which can be really limiting for more luxury brands like NARS, Dior, Givenchy, or YSL that are only carried in big name department stores or Sephora. But who wants to pay upwards of $50 for a product online, only to have it arrive and realize it’s the wrong color, or something you weren’t expecting.

Most people try and deal with this dilemma by reading blogs, I am definitely one of those people, which is actually part of the reason I started this blog. Because I felt like swatches on other sites were just not cutting it with variance in lighting, skin tone, and cameras. And try as I might to give you all the most accurate and precise photos and descriptions, nothing really compares to going and seeing it physically and touching it with your own hands. At least that’s what I used to think. But this website really is the next best thing. I tried this out using products/shades I already owned, to check the colors, and make sure that it looked almost the same as when I apply it at home. At first I was skeptical but after playing around with it for a while I was more than pleasantly surprised, I was amazed! Plus if you tried on something and you liked the way it looked on your skin, you can then buy it directly from the site! Here is a before and after using the NARS foundation, NARS concealer, the Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelee, the Givenchy Nior Couture 4-in-1 waterproof mascara, and the YSL Glossy Stain.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 10.33.40 AM

Here is a bit of a more dramatic look I created using the Guerlain Tenue de Perfection Timeproof foundation, the YSL Touche Eclat, Dior Rosy Glow blush, Lancome eyeshadow, Buxom mascara and the NARS lip lacquer. This look has a nice pop of pink both on the lips and on the cheek, which I think is perfect for spring!

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 9.15.44 PM

You can see that while it isn’t perfect, which is mostly my fault just because I think I need to upload a better picture of myself with better lighting, this was done super quick on my phone because I was just too excited to work with the site! However I can still see how the colors are interacting with my skin, I can see that the coral gloss and blush really compliment my skin tone. Which is what really matters when you’re buying something online.

Another awesome feature of this site is that you can be involved with other users of the site, you can upload a picture of lets say your prom dress, and and ask for their recommendations of a good blush or lipstick to go with it. So now not only do you have the possible opinion of you’re handful of girlfriends, but you also have the recommendation of so many others who are using the site!

This is still a new and developing site, so right now they’re a little limited with product options, but even still they have foundations, blushes and eye shadows that I know I’ve thought about buying before, tested in store or looked up reviews online. I invite you guys to check out the website and play around with it for a bit, because even if you’re not trying to buy something online, it’s still super fun to play with! You can also follow their Facebook page to get updates and news about the site, or just to chat with some fellow makeup loving people!

Well I hope you guys enjoyed this post, it was really fun to create new looks and virtually try on products without getting up from my comfy desk chair! Let me know if you guys decide to just check out the site, because even without the cool tool, it’s actually a very fun and interesting site to look at. Also if you do decide to give yourself a virtual makeover, I’d love to see the final product, so just tweet me a picture through the site! Until next time . . .

real veronica

Other places you can find me!

Twitter: @beautyarchive

Instagram: @thebautyarchive

Bloglovin: The Beauty Archive

Tumblr: Bated-breath

** This post is sponsored by GlamSt. But I’m not receiving any money for this post, and I won’t if you guys decide to click on any of the links above either. I really just am excited about this new website and I wanted to share this with you all, I wouldn’t share anything on this blog with you guys if I didn’t believe in it 100%. If I had found this site all on my own and not through BrandBacker, I would still be creating this post for you all!

2 thoughts on “Virtual Makeover? An Online Shoppers Dream!

Leave a Reply

