DIY / How to / Tutorial

The Secret to Applying Cream Products

beauty-blender

Hello Lovelies,

If you’ve been a long time follower and you read my summer series you’ll know I’m not the biggest fan of cream face products, other than foundation and concealer. I think this was largely due to the fact that applying them never seemed to be a breeze. They were always either patchy, or were so creamy they over blended until my entire cheek down to my chin seemed to be covered in blush. Or even worse as I blended the product so did my foundation-right onto my hands and off my face. Oh and then you hear people tell you, just apply it onto your bare skin and don’t use foundation . . . .this statement is usually met with complete dismay. Because lets all face it, not very many of us can go without the security blanket of our foundation. Or for most people when they wear makeup, foundation may be one of the few things they actually apply.

So of course I still tried to make cream products work because for some people they do apply beautifully and they can look extremely natural, especially this time of year when skin needs an extra touch of moisture in the dry cold air. I’ve tried just about everything, stippling brushes, fingers, buffing brushes, normal brushes, under makeup, and over makeup. I had just about given up hope when I saw a review on youtube of a possible dupe of the beauty blender that you can find at Marshalls. So of course the next day I went out and bought it (lets face it youtube and blogs make us buy everything!). And let me tell you, this thing is magic! Especially for applying those pesky stubborn cream products.

Now I wear cream blushes and highlighters almost as much as I wear powder blushes and highlights. For solid cream products I simply dab the broader base of the sponge into the product and then dab it on my skin wherever I want the color. And viola, perfectly blended and applied cream color! This method also works well for more liquid products like liquid highlighters, which I just apply to the back of my hand and then use that to dab my sponge into before applying to my skin.

The only downside to this, and all cream products is the staying power, especially if your skin doesn’t absorb all the moisture. The best way to maintain the dewy and natural effect, and still have lasting power is to use a translucent setting powder, which will absorb some of the extra moisture but will also improve the wear time of the product.

I hope this post was helpful for some of you who are struggling to apply cream blushes and highlights in a natural way. If you have any helpful tips yourself please list them in the comments, I’m always looking for better ways to apply my cream products! Until next time . . .

real veronica

PS: Other places you can find me!

Twitter: @beautyarchive

Instagram: @thebautyarchive

Bloglovin: The Beauty Archive

Tumblr: Bated-breath

2 thoughts on “The Secret to Applying Cream Products

  1. I have been struggling with the sponges and cream products. So when The sponge is supposed to be damp, and I dip it into the cream product – will it ruin the product itself?

    Like

  2. That’s how I’ve always done it and I’ve noticed absolutely no difference in my cream products at all! I don’t think it would effect your product at all, though if you’re still nervous maybe try it out on a product that you don’t really care about. But I highly doubt it’ll ruin your product.
    XOXO
    Veronica

    Like

Leave a Reply

