Reviews / Uncategorized

The Long Awaited NARS Narcissist Palette Review + Swatches!!

DSC_0915_mini

Hello Lovelies,

If you’ve been a long time follower of my blog then you’ve probably sensed a bit of a brand theme: NARS. It’s just my absolute favorite brand, everything that I’ve tried I’ve loved, and usually bought in multiple shades of whatever it was. So of course when they came out with an eye shadow palette that had more than 6 shadows, I went a bit crazy. I called both the NARS and Nordstrom headquarters and had them check the inventory of every single store to see if any of them were left from the presale – which I wasn’t aware of. But unfortunately I missed out, I was able to get it at Sephora on the release date though – which I was very happy about! I feel like this palette has gotten a bad rap as being of less than good quality, but you’ll see that just isn’t the case!

Product

Row One:

All About Eve #1 – this shade is described as a flesh toned neutral, to me this is a pinky-champagne type color, great for all over the lid or in the inner corner. In the swatch it doesn’t look like much but that is purely because it is very close to my natural skin color so it blends in a little, but this is quite pigmented.

Madrague #2- This is described as a matte caramel, which is quite accurate though I think it’s a bit neutral to be considered a true caramel. A great blending shade or crease color, depending on your skin tone, this is also fairly pigmented, sometimes I wish it were more pigmented but it’s still pigmented enough.

Fez – this is by far the best performing shadow in the palette, its described as a velvety cocoa, but I would describe it as more of a satin brown with tones of copper. It’s very pigmented and long lasting.

Bali – This is described as a neutral which I think is an awful description, but anyways I would describe it as a matte grey mid toned brown. I find this perfect for filling in my brows or as a crease color. It can be a bit difficult to blend, but I find that if there is layered over another, sheer powder it blends just fine.

Coconut Grove – This is described as a deep brown infused with reflections . . . however there are no reflections, this is completely matte. I’m not sure where the reflections are supposed to be coming from but I cannot detect them. I would describe this as a dark, cool toned brown – like a step or two up from Bali. This had some of the same difficulties blending on bare skin, but as with Bali with a sheer powder beneath it, it performs beautifully.

Row Two:

Madrague #1 – this is the other side of the due as the shadow mention above with the same name, it is described as a matte cream, which is spot on and the perfect matte highlight shade. This is probably the most used shadow for me in the palette because I use it every time I use this palette.

Nepal – is described as a soft sheer rose, I would describe it as a rose gold shade, again a perfect all over lid shade. I find it performs very well, blendable and long lasting.

Ashes to Ashes – is described as a shimmery violet based brown, though I don’t think there is nearly enough brown in this to fit the description. I would describe it as more of a light shimmery violet taupe. This shade is also very pigmented and long lasting.

Brousse #2 – This is described as a black violet, which I don’t think is quite accurate, I would describe this as more of a darkened violet taupe. This is the only duplicate shade I own, so I own the duo with this shade, and I really cannot detect any differences between the two formulas

Mekong – this is described as an espresso infused with shimmer, which I think is pretty accurate, though I would describe it as a touch darker than espresso. This performs as a middle of the road shade, it’s not a fantastic shade, but it’s also not ill-performing shade either.

Row Three:

Bellissima #1 – This is described as a shimmering beige with subtle glitter. This is a very accurate description of this shadow. I found it very pigmented and quite long lasting on the lid.

Lhasa – This shade is described as a lavender grey which is quite accurate though I will say this description fails to mention that this shade is a shimmer. This shade performed very well, long lasting and very easy to blend.

Bad Behaviour – This shade is described as a deep pewter, I would describe this as a slightly blue toned shimmering dark grey. This shade was another one of the better performing shadows, very pigmented, very blendable and very long lasting. I only wish I used this type of shade more often so I could enjoy it more.

Dogon #2 – This shade is described as a charcoal, which is a spot on description. It’s one of the best performing dark matte’s, it’s not as difficult to blend as Bali and Coconut Grove.

Pandora #2 – This shade is described as a matte black, which is perfect. It’s very smooth, but I find it’s a bit patchy, so if you want true opaque color you’re going to need to layer it. It was still long lasting and blendable.

Packaging

Oh NARS packaging, I love you but I also hate you. This large rectangular compact looks so lovely on your vanity, and has a wonderful large mirror on the lid. But as with all Nars packaging, its slightly rubberized black finish shows stray fingerprints like nothing else. But a quick wipe down restores it back to it’s original look.

Price

This palette is quite pricey at $79 for a total of 15 g of product. TO break this down for you NARS eyeshadow singles are $24.00/0.07 oz. or $342.86/oz., while duos are $34.00/0.14 oz. or $242.86/oz. The palette is $175.56/oz. So even though it’s quite expensive as far as large shadow palettes go, this is still a great value for money!

Overall

I absolutely love this palette and would definitely repurchase if for some horrible reason it broke or were misplaced. I think if you’ve been looking at Nars shadows for a while, hemming and hawing about which shades to buy, this is a great buy because it houses almost all of their famous and most bought shadows.Also it seems throughout the palette that the shadows with shimmer or satin, tend to perform the best.

And now here are some photos and swatches!

DSC_0916_mini

Here is the overall palette

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 11.58.08 PM

First row (L-R): All About Eve #1, Madrague #2, Fez, Bali, Coconut Grove

DSC_0926_mini

 

Swatches (L-R): All About Eve #1, Madrague #2, Fez, Bali, Coconut Grove

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 11.58.41 PM

Second Row (L-R): Madrague #1, Nepal, Ashes to Ashes, Brousse #2, Mekong

DSC_0941_mini

Swatches (L-R): Madrague #1( you can hardly see this shade because it’s so close in color to my skin tone), Nepal, Ashes to Ashes, Brousse #2, Mekong 

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 11.59.48 PM

Third Row (L-R): Bellissima #1, Lhasa, Bad Behavior, Dogon #2, Pandora #2

DSC_0950_mini

Swatches (L-R): Bellissima #1, Lhasa, Bad Behavior, Dogon #2, Pandora #2

 Well I hope you all enjoyed this post, let me know if you guys have ever tried anything from NARS, did you like it? Until next time . . .

real veronica

 

Ps. Other Places You Can Find Me!

Twitter: @beautyarchive

Instagram: @thebautyarchive

Bloglovin: The Beauty Archive

Pinterest: The Beauty Archive

Tumblr: Bated-breath

Leave a Reply

