Uncategorized

Review: Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil in Soft Brown + Swatches!

DSC_0954_mini

Hello Lovelies,

So I know I just put up my brow routine, but about a week or so after I posted that I finally made the plunge and purchased this brow pencil, that I’ve been looking at ever since Vivianna mentioned it on her blog and all of her videos. Everything she recommends I feel like are such amazing quality products, so I knew I’d love this as well.

Product

This pencil is described as a pencil that combines the benefits and technique of a powder, pencil and wax. And they totally have this right on the dot! It has the convenience of a pencil because it’s just a simple twist up, but has the bendability and natural look that a powder gives you, but still has a bit of hold and staying power that you would get from a wax.

This also has some incredible staying power, an aspect I attribute to the wax aspect of this pencil because something about it hold your brows in place beautifully and binds the pigments to your skin and brows so well. I didn’t realize my powder wasn’t holding up all day until I used this and took a closer look at my brows. For me this lasts all day, so roughly 10 hours.

I bought this in the color in Soft Brunette because after swatching both this shade ans the Dark Brunette, it looked like this one was a better match, and it definitely is overall, though I think I may still get the dark brunette for the tail of my brow which I like to be a bit darker.

Packaging

I absolutely adore the packaging on this beauty, it’s in a very sleek and weighted metal tube, that’s a beautiful cool brown color. One side reveals a small spoolie perfect for shaping your brows in to shape, or blending out the product until is undetectable. The other side houses the actual product, and this is the really cool part, it’s not just your standard pointed tip, or circle, it’s a triangle! While this may seem as a bit weird initially it’s actually quite ingenious, with a triangle you have three side (duh), but those three sides give you different effects on the brow. The small pointed tip it perfect for when you want fine, small hair like strokes, I love using it for the skinny, tail of my brow. Then the medium side it great for the body or bulk of your brow, I use this for the majority of my brows. And lastly the longest side I like to use for the very front of my brows because I like the front of my brows to be quite squared off.

Price

This pencil is quite a luxury purchase for me, because I’ve never spent this much on my brows, but I have a feeling this will become a major staple in my beauty stash. This pencil is $32 for 0.014oz, to give you reference for some very popular brow pencils, the Anastasia Brow Wiz is $21 for 0.003 oz, the MAC is $16 for 0.003 oz, so you can see this brow Hourglass pencil, is actually quite a good value for your money because this pencil is $2285/oz, while the Anastasia is $7000/oz, and the MAC is $5333/oz.

Overall

I absolutely love this product and I think if you’re in the market for a new brow product and you fit into the shade, go get yourself online or to a Sephora and buy it! I would definitely repurchase this and I plan to buy it in the darker shade later on.

And now for some very lovely pictures!

DSC_0954_mini DSC_0960_mini DSC_0974_mini DSC_0975_mini DSC_0976_mini

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what you guys use to groom your brows! Until next time . . .

real veronica

 

 

Leave a Reply

