Uncategorized

6 Tips for Softer and Smoother Hair

200453807-001

Hello lovelies,

I don’t know about you guys but as someone with very fine hair I have struggled a lot to keep the frizz and breakage of my hair to a minimum. Over the years I’ve learned a couple of things from friends, family and hair stylists that have helped me so much, and here they are:

  1. When washing your hair in the shower use luke warm water and then finish off your shower with a quick cold blast of water. I know this kind of sounds like a drag especially when one of the appeals of a shower is just being able to stand there for a while with the hot water. But hot water opens up the hair shaft, the same way steam helps open up the pores, only with hair this releases all of the hairs natural oils, and then keeps them open after your shower, this can lead to frizzy hair and more easily broken and damaged strands. The cold blast at the end of your shower seals the hair shaft and locks in more moisture, over time your hair will be much smoother and practically frizz free. And if you can’t manage to do the whole luke warm thing, at least follow up your hair washing with a quick cold blast of water over your strands.
  2. Sleep on satin or silk pillow cases. When you’re sleeping at night you have a tendency to toss and move around, I don’t know when I’ve ever woken up in the same spot as when I fell asleep. This moving around can be a lot of friction against your hair since for the most part your head is firmly placed on your pillow, all this friction can lead to breakage and then frizz. By sleeping on a satin or silk pillowcase you’re reducing the amount of friction to your hair since satin and silk are so smooth in comparison to other fabrics like cotton.
  3. This is another sleeping tip, that I notice a huge difference from for the same reasons as mentioned above: don’t sleep with your hair in a bun or ponytail. But if you must have your hair secured in some way I recommend loosely braiding your hair with only one hair tie at the end of your brand and not at your scalp. Like I said above when you sleep your hair can face a lot of friction, and with your hair in a ponytail or bun there is a great deal more pull and tie from the hair tie securing your hair.
  4. I feel like these are all building on themselves! This next tip may seem silly, but this is something I’ve noticed a huge difference from over the years when my hair stylist told me this. When you have your hair in a ponytail, I know it can be easy to just tighten the whole thing by grabbing to halves of your hair and pulling them forward. But this causes a ton of breakage and over time you’ll have a small halo around your temples of frizzy hair from all the half broken strands, so just take out your pony tail and redo it, it’ll cost you an extra 30 seconds but will save you a lot of frustration later on!. And then another tip that’s along the same lines, is when you pull out your pony tail don’t take the whole hair tie out at once down your hair, unravel it one loop at a time. For the same reason that you shouldn’t tighten your ponytail, it’ll cause unnecessary breakage, which of course is one of my main causes of frizzy hair.
  5. This tip is something I’m sure everyone’s head about so I’m not going to explain, just give you a gently reminder: don’t brush out wet hair, gently comb it!
  6. And the final tip I have is to use a leave in keratin product every once in a while, not all the time or your hair will get brittle and crunchy. But used sparingly it gives your hair a great deal of strength and flexibility, which will help to prevent breakage (I’m starting to sound like a broken record!)

I hope you guys found this helpful and maybe found a new tip to use in your daily routine. Let me know if you like it, I love hearing from you guys! Until next time . . .

real veronica

One thought on “6 Tips for Softer and Smoother Hair

Leave a Reply

