Reviews

Review: Kevyn Aucoin ‘The Celestial Powder’ in Candlelight + Swatches!!

DSC_1072_mini

Hello lovelies,

As you all know Kevyn Aucoin is one of my favorite makeup brands, even though I only have a handful of his products – they are all amazing! And this highlighting powder is no different, read on to see exactly why!

Product

This highlighting powder is described as a soft, golden-apricot hue. I would describe it as a soft, warm champagne with a sheen, no sparkles or glitter. The formula on this is heavenly, its buttery soft and blends like a dream on the skin. It gives the skin a very natural lit-from-within glow, nothing obvious or obnoxious. It honestly just looks like someone is constantly walking around with you creating the most perfect and glowing lighting around you.

I love applying this over the tops of my cheek bones and through the center of my forehead because my skin is super dry still from my Accutane, and I need all the glow I can get.

I find the best way to apply this is either with a small duo fiber brush or a small face brush, my personal fave being the Real Technique Contour Brush, which unfortunately you can only buy in a set and not as a single brush. On my dry-normal skin I find this lasts all day long, without any fading or emphasizing of the pores.

Packaging

If you’re familiar with Kevyn Aucoin then this packaging is no surprise, with it’s signature garnet lid, with a deeper maroon base and gold accents. There is a mirror that fits within the lid of the compact, which is a very convenient size, there is also a small well next to the product where the brush included stays, however the brush included is super crappy, don’t use it!

Price

As I mentioned in my recent haul, this is the older packaging and so the pricing is slightly different just because of the amount of product you receive. This compact was $44 for 0.17oz, while the new compact is $44 for 0.11oz. If you’re interested in buying the old packaging, Net-A-Porter should still have them

Overall

This is an amazing highlighting powder with both a great formula and color, I would definitely suggest picking this up the next time you see it! I will definitely be using this up eventually and then repurchasing, I can already tell!

And now for some pictures!

DSC_1072_mini DSC_1080_mini

This is not the best swatch in the world, but hopefully you see what I mean!

DSC_1011_mini DSC_1004_mini DSC_1012_mini

Well I hope you all enjoyed this post, please don’t; forget to like and let me know if you’ve tried this and what your thoughts on it were! Until next time . . .

real veronica

6 thoughts on “Review: Kevyn Aucoin ‘The Celestial Powder’ in Candlelight + Swatches!!

  1. That looks beautiful on your skin! I don’t mean to sound weird but you have the prettiest eye color!=)

    Like

Leave a Reply

