DIY / Skin Care

DIY Vitamin C Toner and Serum!

DSC_1039_mini

Hello Lovelies

So the other day while I was clicking away on youtube – as I seem to be spending all of my free time doing – I fell upon a video from a woman I was already subscribed to Uppiesbeads59 – she does really amazing skin care videos! And she had her own way to make a vitamin C serum – obviously I was immediately intrigued, and then proceeded to buy all the nessecary items to make this concoction. And I have to say, this is by far the most effective DIY anything I’ve ever tried.

Now the way Tammy does this in her video is for a serum, I tried it this way and found it way too moisturizing for me – this is because of the glycerin. So if you have normal to oily skin I recommend you go the toner route as I have done, and if you have skin that’s on the drier side, go the serum route the way Tammy does in her video. I got all the formulas for the serum and toner from her video, the only thing I changed to the toner was triple it simple because I noticed I needed way more when using it on a cotton pad. Also I suggest if your skin care routine features product with a lot of active ingredients, that you check out her video to see where to layer this in, and how long you should wait in between steps. This is also only enough for a week or so, and if for some reason your toner or serum turns a different color – it should always look like water – then you need to toss it and make yourself a new batch.

DSC_1038_mini

What you’ll need:

–       A tinted glass jar – preferably with a dropper

–       Vitamin C powder (It MUST be the L- Ascorbic Acid)

–       Purified water not tap water!

–       Glycerin (optional for the serum method)

–       Two glass cups

–       Measuring spoons

*I found all these items at my Whole Foods/ my local health food stores, you can also order all these things online.

Toner Method:

STRENGTH       L-ASCORBIC ACID     WATER

5% Serum         3/4 tsp. powder          14 1/4 tsp. distilled water

10% Serum        3/4 tsp. powder         6 3/4 tsp. distilled water

15% Serum        1 1/8 tsp. powder      6 3/8 tsp. distilled water

20 % Serum      3/4 tsp. powder          3 tsp. distilled water

Now before I lead on into the steps, I highly suggest you start on the 5% concentration and work your way up because you don’t want to damage you skin!

How to make:

  1. Measure out the L- Ascorbic Acid and level off your measuring spoon each time, drop into one of your sterile glass cups (the other one should be filled with your purified water)
  2. Measure out your water into the cup with the powder
  3. Swirl away until the mixture is completely clear – like water
  4. Pour off your finished mixture into the tinted glass dropper * it needs to be tinted because vitamin c is light sensitive and will break down when exposed to light.

How to use:

Use directly after you cleanse in place of your normal toner, can be used either AM or PM or both like I use it. I usually take a dropper full (or two) and put it on a cotton round and swipe it over my skin avoiding the eye area. Also please make sure to us an SPF when using this!

Serum Method:

STRENGTH        L-ASCORBIC ACID       WATER/GLYCERIN

5% Serum           1/4 tsp. powder            4 tsp. distilled water 3/4 tsp. glycerin

10% Serum         1/4 tsp. powder            2 tsp. distilled water 1/4 tsp. glycerin

15% Serum         3/8 tsp. powder            2 tsp. distilled water 1/8 tsp. glycerin

20 % Serum       1/4 tsp. powder             3/4 tsp. distilled water 1/4 tsp. glycerin

Again I highly suggest you start out with the 5% so you don’t damage your skin!

How to make:

  1. Measure out the L- Ascorbic Acid and level off your measuring spoon each time, drop into one of your sterile glass cups (the other one should be filled with your purified water)
  2. Measure out your water and glycerin into the cup with the powder
  3. Swirl away until the mixture is completely clear – like water
  4. Pour off your finished mixture into the tinted glass dropper * it needs to be tinted because vitamin c is light sensitive and will break down when exposed to light.

How to use:

Use this after you’ve cleansed and toned in place of or in addition to your serum and before you moisturize. Can be used both AM and or PM. Just take a dropper and spread it onto your palms and then distribute onto your face, avoiding the eye area. Make sure you follow up and SPF in the morning, regardless of when you use this.

** Side note: I do not suggest using the toner and serum together, I think it would be a bit too harsh on the skin

DSC_1041_mini

And now that you’ve done this, be prepared for brighter, smoother and less congested skin! I hope you guys enjoyed this, let me know if you like these kinds of DIY posts, I can definitely do more! Until nest time . . .

real veronica

6 thoughts on “DIY Vitamin C Toner and Serum!

    • Thank you! It’s so amazing, I’ve only been using it for two weeks and my skin has completely transformed! Let me know if you try this out, I’d love to know your thoughts on it! And of course thank you so much for reading!
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

Leave a Reply

