Uncategorized

I Love Drugstore Makeup Tag!

Hello Lovelies,

I was tagged by the amazing Katie over at Plus+ Beauty, thanks for tagging me! Now this tag was a bit difficult for me just because I really don’t have a whole lot of drugstore items, the majority of my makeup is high end, so for some of these questions you’ll probably find they are not the most detailed, but anyways onto the tag.

DSC_1020_mini

1. What is your favorite drugstore/cheap makeup brand overall?

This one is a toughie, but it would probably have to be Rimmel, just because everything I’ve tried I’ve loved. I have a nail polish and my favorite lip liner in the photo, but I also love the Apacolips, the Matte setting powder, and their Scandaleyes water proof range is borderline brilliant.

DSC_1021_mini

2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?

Well I don’t have a favorite blush or foundation, but I do love the NYC sunny bronzer, its amazing in the winter when my skin gets a bit pale. Also you’ll see all my favorite lip products throughout the post, though one I didn’t mention is the NYX Butter glosses.

DSC_1022_mini

3. Least favorite product?

I feel so bad saying this because I know so many people love it, but the Covergirl Shimmering Sands Trio, it looks beautiful in the pan but I just find the color payoff is lacking and on the lids the shades muddle together and there is no real distinction between shades so the whole lot just ends up becoming a shimmering mess.

DSC_1023_mini

4. What is the best makeup bargain?

Definitely most things from Wet n’ Wild, like their Color Icon range is fabulous and so are their Mega Last lipsticks, even if they are a tad drying.

5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)

I’m not sure anything I own from the drugstore is an underdog, because most of them are the items people rave and rave about. But if I had to pick it would be my Rimmel 1000 Kisses lip liners, they are amazing and I never hear anyone talk about them.

6867001_320x385

Image credit: Neutrogena

6. A drugstore product that is over priced

Definitely the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation, last time I was at the drugstore and bothered to check the price it was up in the $15 – $17 range, which I think is just too high for the drug store especially from a normally affordable brand like Neutrogena.

DSC_1031_mini

7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!

These are not the best or most exact dupes, but once applied to the lips, I can’t tell the difference between the two products. So from top to bottom, we have the Lip Smackers Dr Pepper lip balm and the Fresh Sugar Rose lip balm underneath. Then we have Revlon Pink Truffle Lip Butter and MAC Cream in your Coffee lipstick underneath that. And lastly we have the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Mauvey Night and MAC Captive Lipstick underneath that.

8. Drugstore product that isn’t  worth the hype?

This was a really hard one to pinpoint but it would have to be the NYX Butter lipsticks, I love the gloss formula but the lipstick doesn’t smell as nice, or is as moisturizing and smooth as the gloss and at times the formula can apply a little patchy on the lips. And of course like the forgetful person that I am I forgot to take a picture of it!

That is everything! Let me know some of your drugstore favorites, I’m always looking for new products to try out! Until next time . . .

real veronica

 

4 thoughts on “I Love Drugstore Makeup Tag!

Leave a Reply

