Skin Care / Uncategorized

Take It All Off!

DSC_1052_mini

Hello Lovelies,

So today I’m going to be talking about makeup removal – a very serious subject when it comes to skin care if you ask me. Because if your makeup is not completely removed at night, your pores will remain clogged, and any skincare you use won’t be sinking in properly. And as someone who tends to wear a full face of makeup 4-5 days a week, and waterproof liner and mascara exclusively, I’ve gotten quite good at making sure all my makeup is removed.

For The Face

Makeup Removing Wipes: I know some of you are looking at the screen in disgust as I mention this, but I find these little guys incredibly useful! If you are wearing quite a bit of makeup, I love using these to remove the bulk of your makeup. So most of your foundation and other base products, and maybe loosen up some of your eye makeup. I don’t always use these but they do come in handy. My favorite brand are the Kirkland ones because you get so many at once and then you don’t have to worry about it for a while.

Cleansing Waters: I’m pretty sure as soon as someone even mentions cleansing waters, Bioderma is bound to come up at some point. This kind of cleanser is like the better, more effective version of the wipes, just pour some on a cotton round and then wipe it over your face and eyes. I find that with normal mascara these cleansers are fine but if you’re wearing anything waterproof, I suggest you look on to the next product. I do love Bioderma, but because it’s so hard to find here in the US I like to use the Vichy one.

For the Eyes

Duo Phase Remover: Personally I think these are the ones that perform the best, and I use only waterproof mascara and eyeliner, so my eye makeup removes need to be more heavy duty. To do that I’ve found through trial and error that the best one out there is the Clarins Instant Eye Make-up Remover which I just apply to a cotton pad and then press it over my eye – no scrubbing.

The One-Stop-Shop

Cleansing Oil: These recent finds have really changed the why I take off my makeup, you rub them onto dry skin – so weird – and then add water to turn the oil into a milk which rinses clean along with every scrap of your makeup. My favorite is the one by DHC*.

A Quality Cleanser: If you can find a good cleanser that even removes your waterproof makeup – you’re golden. My favorite for the past 2 or 3 years is the Philosophy Purity Made Simple cleanser, it’s a cult favorite and its for a reason, it breaks down waterproof makeup, powers through thick layers of foundation and powder and still manages to leave your skin feeling nourished – not stripped or dry.

What I Do:

For me on most nights, I do one of two things. One way I remove my makeup is to first remove my face makeup with a wipe, and then my eye makeup with the Clarins instant remover, and then cleanse my entire face with my Purity Made Simple cleanser. And then if I’m feeling a bit lazy on other nights I will just double cleanse with either my DHC oil* or my Purity cleanser.

I hope this post was helpful for those of you out there looking to really remove your makeup, or those of you who wear heavy or waterproof makeup. Let me know if you have any other tips for me, or any products you like for removing your makeup. I always love trying out new stuff! Until next time . . .

real veronica

 

8 thoughts on “Take It All Off!

  1. Great post! I am so guilty of falling asleep in my makeup on occasion…I know it’s bad! lol. I am going to try to make a real effort in removing it from now on. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

