Monthly Favorites / Reviews

2014 Beauty Favorites! Part 2: Makeup and Nails

Hello Lovelies,

This is the second part to my 2014 favorites, here is the first part if you want to see my skin, hair and body favorites from the year! This is probably the more interesting one for most of you, this one is going to be all my makeup and nail faves from the year, beware though this it is very NARS heavy!

DSC_0039_mini

Makeup

Primer: Philosophy ‘The Present’ Clear makeup

This primer is absolutely amazing, it smoothes over pores and fine lines and is like super glue for anything you put on top of it – highly recommend!

Foundation: NARS Sheer Glow

I know big shocker – not! I feel like I just keep droning on and on about this bad boy but I can’t help it! It’s the perfect balance of radiance without looking greasy, good coverage that you can build up if you need to.

Concealer: NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

What can I say? I fell into the hype and was so glad that I did. This has amazing coverage and lasting power, isn’t too drying or creamy, in fact is has an almost mousy texture to it.

Under-eye concealer: Bobbi Brown Under Eye Correcter

As a person with horrendous under eye darkness I always have to have something like this on hand, and this is the one I keep coming back to, it’s very thin in texture but very pigmented.

Powder: NARS Light Reflecting Loose Powder

This powder is so good! It’s completely clear and so thin it never looks cakey, and it can set your foundation and concealer without masking the finish of whatever you put on underneath.

Bronzer: Laura Mercier Mineral Powder in Pure Honey

I know what you’re thinking, mineral foundation as a bronzer?! But let me tell you about this happy accident, I originally got this for it’s intended purpose: a mineral foundation, but it was too dark and I was too lazy to return it. But I loved the finish and the glow it gave my hand when I swatched it, so I started using it sparingly to warm up my complexion and now I’m hooked.

Blush: NARS Blushes (Lovejoy in particular)

NARS will always have my heart when it comes to blushes, they are my absolute fave and I continue to buy them even though I really don’t need them. But in particular the shade Lovejoy really won me over this year

Highlighter: Kevyn Aucoin Celestial Powder in Candlelight

This highlighter came in and completely swept away all the others ones I was using! It is so incredibly natural but sill evident. Whenever I wear this people always tell me I’m glowing or that my skin looks radiant – both of which are good compliments in my book!

DSC_0044_mini

Eye Primer: NARS Pro Prime Smudge-Proof Eye Shadow Base

This little gem has been by far the most crucial to my routine, I have extremely oily eye lids and everything else creases on me, and this still will sometimes if I’ve had a particularly sweaty day but for the most part it keeps my shadows in place and crease free all day long.

Eye shadow Palette: LORAC Pro Palette

This one was tough for me because there was so many different releases, but this one is the one I’ve reached for the most and fell like I don’t need any other additional single shades to complete a look.

Single Eye shadow: L’oreal Infallible in Amber Rush

This was the shade that helped me discover the beauty of a ‘one shadow look’ with a color that you can use all over the lid and up into the crease.

Eyeliner: Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Pencil Liners

For me this year I really didn’t wear much liner but if I did I was sure to reach for one of the many shades I have from this range. They are creamy, smooth, pigmented and they last forever!

Mascara: L’oreal Telescopic Shocking Extensions Waterproof

For me this one was a huge surprise, I really didn’t expect to like it so much until my tube ran out and I was using my other ‘favorite’ mascaras and found myself wishing I had this on hand instead. It lengthens, and separates which adds a bit of fullness.

Brow Product: Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil

This was the first time I ever used something other than powder to fill in my brows, but now I’m a total pencil convert and this little beaut is absolutely perfect!.

Brow gel: Benefit Gimme Brow

The gel that everyone and their dog had! For a god reason that it, it’s like instant brows in a tube – perfection.

Lip liner: Milani Nude Lip Liner

Oh Kylie Jenner, you and your lips. She was almost entirely the reason I began delving into the lip liner world, and I’m so glad I did.

Lipstick: Wet n’ Wild Bare it All

This one was a total surprise, if it wasn’t for a certain Youtuber, I really don’t think I would have ever given this a shot, it’s now become my go-to daily lipstick.

Lip gloss: Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector

I’m really not a huge lip gloss fan anymore but this gloss has had me reach for glossy lips more and more because this isn’t so much of a gloss, it’s more of a balm gloss hybrid.

DSC_0047_mini

Nails

Basecoat: NailTech Formula II

MY nails have always been peely and thin and this has been the only thing that keeps my nails strong and lets them grow out the way I like them.

Polish: OPI

Now I couldn’t just pick out one singular shade so instead I went for a brand. I love the formula and how opaque the colors are. I’ve never found an OPI I didn’t like. (Shades featured in photo: Dulce de Leche, In the Cable Car Pool Lane, Designer Da-Better)

Topcoat: Seche Vite

The topcoat I feel like everyone has tried, but for me I love how thickly it goes on, how fast it dries and the gel-like finish it gives my nails.

Well these are all my faves from the year! Let me know if you want to see some of my random favorites? Also what was the standout beauty product for you this year? Until next time . . .

real veronica

7 thoughts on “2014 Beauty Favorites! Part 2: Makeup and Nails

  1. Oh wow what a great group of products! I really want to get my hands on a Lorac palette at the moment (not very easy in the UK!) but you’re making me think it might be time for me to try something from Nars too!
    Hope you have a lovely new year Veronica! x

    Like

    • Honestly the Lorac palette blows all the other palettes out of the water, including the Naked palettes! I think you might be able to order it from Sephora (they ship to the UK now). And as for NARS – I could go on about them for days, if I had to choose one brand to shop from for the rest of my life – they would be it! I highly recommend their blushes and eyeshadow duos, I think those are some of their most stand out products. Let me know if you try anything out from them!
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Like

      • If I get my hands on any, they will undoubtedly appear on the blog! Haha. I’m going to France in March, so I’m planning a trip to Sephora there and hopefully getting a Lorac palette then 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

