Hot or Not / Reviews

Tried it . . . Returned it

s1096908-main-Lhero

Hello Lovelies,

In my last post I did this exact same thing for the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation. And in that post I mentioned that when I returned it I got a new foundation to replace it. As you can tell from the title of this post, it did not work out. Now I know this may be controversial because this foundation is super popular, and for a lot of people its their all time favorite foundation. It was the Makeup Forever HD foundation.

When I first applied this to my skin I thought I was in love, it applied very smoothly, and was the exact color of my skin. I thought that NARS foundations matched me well, but I mean this shade blended right on into my skin, I got the shade 118 in case anyone was wondering. It lasted a decent amount of time on my skin before fading, about 8 hours or so. But that is where all of the good ends.

For me when I apply my foundation, I like it to spread evenly on the skin and have medium coverage with some buildability over areas where I need the extra coverage. Generally with foundations I use one pump for my face, and that is enough to cover my face with an even layer. With this HD foundation I needed 2 or 3 pumps to get the medium-buildable coverage I need. One pump barely even covered both of my cheeks. And it wasn’t that the pump distributed less product, one pump was equal to or more than one pump of my beloved NARS sheer glow. It just does not spread over the skin or give very much coverage.

Because you need so many pumps to cover your face it goes instantly cakey and thick. Even when I tried to sheer out and get one pump to cover my face it still looked cakey. I tried with primer, no primer and not one way made it look any better. It also made my face look dull, and it wasn’t the finish, something about the formula just did not work well with my skin.

And the final thing that really turned me off to this foundation was the facts that out of the box the pump was slightly broken. It pumped out foundation but it leaked if I leaned it to one side.

Needless to say I returned this, and I decided not to purchase a foundation to replace it. I have enough to last me a long while and after pouring over the Sephora website, turns out I’ve pretty much tried or I already own any foundations I would want to try out. What is your favorite foundation? Until next time . . .

real veronica

3 thoughts on “Tried it . . . Returned it

  1. I am so sorry to hear that this one didn’t work out for you either. My favorite foundation that I have been using forever is L’Oreal True Match. I have only tried drugstore foundations and I have thought about maybe trying a new drugstore one sometime. I hear the Covergirl 3 in 1 is nice as well as the Ready Set Gorgeous. I have also seen a recent post on a Wet n’ Wild one that is supposed to be good actually. I hope that you find a foundation that works perfect for you. Thanks for the great review! ❤ xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thats ok! Just live and learn and be happy that I live in a country where I can return opened beauty products! I used to use the covergirl one and it was amazing! I went through an entire bottle of it, I’ve also heard really good things about the Ready Set Gorgeous and the L’oreal True Match, what is the coverage on that? I’ve been thinking of trying the True Match Lumi foundation because I hear its a good dupe to my NARS Sheer Glow – which is my all time favorite foundation!.
      XOXO
      Veronica

      Liked by 1 person

      • True Match is probably a Medium to Full coverage. I am bad at judging the coverages though lol. I also want to try the True Match Lumi too. I hear really great things about that one. My best friend uses it and loves it. Decisions decisions! lol. xoxo

        Like

Leave a Reply

