Reviews

Review: Rimmel Provocalips in Play With Fire and Make Your Move + Swatches!

DSC_0075_mini

Hello Lovelies,

There seems to have been a boom in the drugstore with these two step long wear liquid lipsticks. Here are my thoughts on these beauts from Rimmel!

Product

These liquid lipsticks are a part of a two step system that guarantee long wear with full color. The first step is the color, Play With Fire is a true blue red, while Make Your Move is a darkened nude similar to Revlon Pink Truffle and Wet n’ Wild Bare it all. The second step of this is a thick balm – gloss hybrid that you layer over the color once it has set to keep your lips hydrated.

The texture of the color side of this duo is very thin and smooth. At first when I felt the texture I thought it would be sheer but with one swipe I was able to get full and complete color. The other, balm side of the due has a very interesting texture, its thick and nourishing like a balm but somehow thin enough to be applied with a doe foot applicator.

As for the wear – probably the biggest appeal of this, it is absolutely astonishing! I applied the red in the morning and still had perfect lips at the end of the day and I mean perfect. There was some patchiness around the corners of my mouth but other than that they were perfect. There is zero transfer as long as you apply the balm on top. But what is even more amazing, is that the next morning – after I had washed my face the night before with an oil cleanser – I still had some red left on my lips.

Packaging

I love the cute packaging on these little guys, one side has an opaque tube with the color of the lipstick inside, and the other side with the balm is a white base with various colored lip prints on it. Both sides have doe foot applicators.

Price

Being from the drugstore these are very affordable and depending on where you buy them, and where you live and any sales going on they can vary from being $6-9, especially if you can get a buy one get one type of deal or some coupons.

Overall

If you’re looking for a longwear lip from the drugstore – or even from a high end brand, I would say go ahead and pick one of these up! They are pigmented, long lasting and have a wide range of colors.

Now for some close ups! And I should note that just having these on my skin long enough to swatch and take photos left my skin stained! I used a makeup wipe, rubbed my arm on a rough towel, and had to use an oil cleanser before I could continue swatching for the other photos I planned on taking.

DSC_0079_mini

Play With Fire (top), Make Your Move (bottom)

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! What is your favorite long-wear lip product? Until next time . . .

real veronica

3 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel Provocalips in Play With Fire and Make Your Move + Swatches!

Leave a Reply

