Reviews / Skin Care

Josie Maran Argan Oil Dupe?

DSC_0061_mini

Hello Lovelies,

If you’ve spent any amount of time watching QVC or even just watching Youtube videos, you’ve probably heard of Josie Maran’s 100% pure Argan oil. Its touted as ‘liquid gold’ the end all be all moisturizer, serum, and anti-aging cream. Now I don’t know that this product really does all that but I do think keeping your skin moisturized is one of the keys to younger looking skin. Anyways, her oil is $48 for 1.7 oz – which is a lot! Especially if you use it for more than just one thing, whether that be a facial moisturizer, hair oil or additive to your body care, because you will begin to blow through this stuff like crazy!

I know a lot of people really harp on the price of this because you can find 100% pure argan oil from Whole Foods for $10. Now Josie explains the reasoning for the price is because it comes from the first cold press, now is it $50 worth? I don’t think so. To me from all the times that I’ve used this, it’s been no different on my skin than any other multi purpose oil.

Now if you stalk the drugstore shelves like I do then you know that Physicians Formula recently released their 100% pure argan oil. And yes it is 100% pure, that is the only ingredient in this multipurpose oil. Now I don’t know what press this oil comes from but I’m still going to compare them.

First of all there is the price difference, Josie Maran is $48 for 1.7 oz, which works out to be $28 for 1 oz, while the PF is $16 for 1 oz, of course because PF is a drugstore brand you can almost always find some kind of sale or coupon to use on it, I got mine for 40% off so it was just under $10.

The second difference between these two is the texture, which to most is undetectable, but because I’m really trying to pay attention and pick out differences, the Josie Maran oil is a tad bit thinner than the PF and it sinks in a little quicker. But that also means it has a little bit less moisture than the PF or at least it feels less moisturizing.

Now the big question, is Josie Maran worth the money? In my opinion no, I think you can get the same effects from the Physicians Formula argan oil for way less $$$. Well I hope this post saved some of you guys a bit of money, let me know if you’ve tried any organ oil and what you thought of it! Until next time . . .

real veronica

3 thoughts on “Josie Maran Argan Oil Dupe?

Leave a Reply

